Changing the world together,
one small step at a time.
From 1 November until 24 December 2019, buy a woom bicycle bell and give children in Zambia a chance at a better future.
Powered By
& WORLD BICYCLE RELIEF ™

We firmly believe that bicycles can change lives.

That's why we are supporting World Bicycle Relief with our fundraising campaign Bells for a Better Life. World Bicycle Relief is a charity which provides people living in rural, developing regions with specially developed bicycles tailored to their specific needs. The organisation's "Buffalo Bikes" fundamentally change their owners' lives. We think this is a fantastic initiative and want to join forces with you to make a contribution.

Buy a BING Bell or VIENNA Bell and support the woom fundraising campaign.

Education gives children a way out of poverty.
Bikes give them a way to get to school.

Bicycles make it easier for children to complete the often very long journey school. That, in turn, raises their attendance, boosts their concentration and significantly improves their performance in school.
More girls are able to finish school. This sustainably breaks the cycle of poverty, because educated girls will use the money they earn to look after their families and also pay greater attention to their own children's education.

From 1 November until 24 December 2019, we will donate the entire net proceeds of all our bell sales to World Bicycle Relief.

Our donation will finance Buffalo Bikes for children, especially girls, in Zambia to bring them to their schools – often very far from home – and get them there faster, safer and less tired.

FAQ on the woom fundraising campaign

How did you come up with the idea for Bells for a Better Life?

woom has been around for six years now. They've been six exciting, eventful and turbulent years. During this time, the team has grown from a two-man show to a colourful patchwork of nearly 100 men and women working with us. Together, we've achieved a lot. And together we have big plans! With the year winding down, the whole team felt that this was an opportunity to give back a bit of our success. To join forces and make a difference. As a team and also with our customers.
We found out about World Bicycle Relief through friends and contacts in the bike business. We really liked the idea of giving people the opportunity to break the cycle of poverty through their own efforts with a bicycle of their own. It is a hugely impressive initiative. That's why we came up with the idea of the Bells for a Better Life fundraising campaign to support the work of World Bicycle Relief and give Zambian children the chance to build a better future for themselves.

What exactly does World Bicycle Relief do?

World Bicycle Relief is a global aid organisation that provides people in rural, developing areas with specially designed bicycles to give them mobility and thus better access to education, healthcare and economic development. The "Buffalo Bikes" are tailored exactly to their needs, with an extra-robust and durable steel construction as well as a heavy-duty luggage rack for transporting goods and passengers weighing up to 100 kg plus the rider's own weight. The bikes are assembled on-site and World Bicycle Relief trains local bike mechanics to ensure the programme is sustainable. More information about World Bicycle Relief is available on their website: World Bicycle Relief.

Why doesn't woom just donate woom bikes to kids in Zambia?

The requirements for a bike in developing countries are fundamentally different from those of a good children's bike. The Buffalo Bicycles have been developed specifically for use in rural areas to cover long distances and transport heavy loads. Their robust steel construction makes them much, much heavier than woom bikes, but this is what helps them withstand the poor road conditions in developing countries, even when weighed down with heavy loads. Buffalo Bikes are also designed for easy maintenance and to enable repairs with locally available parts and standard tools.

How can I help?

We will donate the full net proceeds from every bell purchased in our online shop between 1 November and 24 December 2019 to World Bicycle Relief, regardless of whether it is purchased individually or together with other woom products. There are no additional costs to you – you buy, we donate!

How can I support the campaign if I don't need a bell?

If you already have enough bells for your bikes, you of course have the option of donating directly to World Bicycle Relief and give people living in rural areas of developing countries a chance at a better future. This link will take you to the donation page of the World Bicycle Relief website.

What exactly happens to all of the collected net proceeds?

At the end of the campaign we will announce the total amount of money raised and transfer it to World Bicycle Relief. Specifically, the funds will help to provide bicycles to children – especially girls – in Zambia as part of the Bicycles for Educational Empowerment Programme (BEEP): 70% of the bikes will be given to girls. The bikes will enable girls and boys to get to school faster, safer and less tired. This means that girls, especially, will stay in secondary schools longer, and more will leave school with qualifications. In the long term, this will result in a decline in child marriages and the birth rate as well as reducing infant mortality and the number of mothers who die during childbirth.

🎄🎅🎄 Auf alle Bestellungen vom 1. November bis 24. Dezember gewähren wir ein verlängertes Rückgaberecht bis zum 15. Jänner 2020.

Gemeinsam die Welt in kleinen Schritten verändern.
Vom 1. November bis 24. Dezember 2019 woom Fahrradklingel kaufen und damit Kindern in Sambia die Chance auf eine bessere Zukunft geben.
Powered by

Wir glauben fest daran, dass Fahrräder Leben verändern können.

Daher möchten wir mit unserer SpendenaktionBells for a Better Life die Hilfsorganisation World Bicycle Relief unterstützen, die weltweit Menschen in ländlichen Entwicklungsregionen mit speziell entwickelten und auf deren Bedürfnisse zugeschnittenen Fahrrädern mobil macht. Die sogenannten Buffalo-Fahrräder verändern das Leben dieser Menschen grundlegend – wir finden das große Klasse und möchten gemeinsam mit euch einen Beitrag dazu leisten.

BING Fahrradklingel oder VIENNA BELL Fahrradklingel kaufen und woom Spendenaktion unterstützen.

Bildung ermöglicht den Weg aus der Armut.
Ein Fahrrad den Weg zur Schule.

Fahrräder erleichtern Schülerinnen und Schülern den oft sehr weiten Weg zur Schule. Dadurch können sie häufiger am Unterricht teilnehmen, sind konzentrierter und verbessern ihre schulischen Leistungen erheblich.
Mehr Mädchen machen einen Schulabschluss. So wird der Kreislauf der Armut langfristig durchbrochen, denn gebildete Mädchen nutzen ihr späteres Einkommen für ihre Familien und achten wiederum auf die Schulbildung ihrer eigenen Kinder.

Im Verkaufszeitraum vom 1. November bis 24. Dezember 2019 spenden wir den gesamten Reinerlös all unserer verkauften Fahrradklingeln an World Bicycle Relief

Mit unserer Spende werden Buffalo-Fahrräder für Schüler und insbesondere Schülerinnen in Sambia finanziert, mit denen sie die oft sehr weit entfernt gelegenen Schulen schneller, sicherer und weniger erschöpft erreichen.

Fragen und Antworten zur woom Spendenaktion

Wie entstand die Idee zu Bells for a Better Life?

woom gibt es seit mittlerweile sechs Jahren. Das waren sechs spannende, ereignisreiche und turbulente Jahre. Aus zwei Gründern ist in dieser Zeit ein bunt zusammengewürfeltes Team aus knapp 100 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern geworden. Gemeinsam haben wir viel erreicht. Und gemeinsam haben wir noch viel vor! Zum Jahresende war es dem ganzen Team nun ein Anliegen, etwas von unserem Erfolg zurückzugeben. Gemeinsam mehr zu bewegen. Gemeinsam als Team und gemeinsam mit unseren Kundinnen und Kunden.
Über Freunde und Kontakte in der Fahrradbranche sind wir auf World Bicycle Relief aufmerksam geworden. Die Idee, Menschen mit einem Fahrrad die Möglichkeit zu geben, dem Kreislauf der Armut aus eigener Kraft zu entkommen, hat uns sehr beeindruckt und wahnsinnig gut gefallen. Daher haben wir uns die Spendenaktion Bells for a Better Life ausgedacht, mit der wir die Arbeit von World Bicycle Relief unterstützen und Kindern in Sambia die Chance auf eine bessere Zukunft geben möchten.

Was genau macht World Bicycle Relief?

World Bicycle Relief ist eine weltweit tätige Hilfsorganisation, die Menschen in ländlichen Entwicklungsregionen mit speziell entwickelten Fahrrädern mobil macht und ihnen so einen besseren Zugang zu Bildung, Gesundheitsversorgung und wirtschaftlicher Entwicklung ermöglicht. Die sogenannten Buffalo-Fahrräder sind genau auf deren Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten: die extra robuste und belastbare Stahlkonstruktion und der massive Gepäckträger ermöglichen den Transport von Waren und Mitfahrern bis zu einem Gewicht von 100 kg plus Fahrergewicht. Durch die Montage vor Ort und die Ausbildung von lokalen Mechanikerinnen und Mechanikern, wird die Nachhaltigkeit der Programme von World Bicycle Relief sichergestellt. Weitere Infos über World Bicycle Relief findest du hier: World Bicycle Relief.

Warum spendet woom den Kindern in Sambia nicht einfach woom bikes?

Die Anforderungen an ein Fahrrad in Entwicklungsländern sind grundverschieden von den Anforderungen an ein gutes Kinderrad. Die Buffalo-Fahrräder wurden gezielt für die Nutzung in ländlichen Regionen zur Bewältigung langer Distanzen und für den Transport schwerer Lasten entwickelt. Aufgrund ihrer robusten Stahlkonstruktion sind sie sehr viel schwerer als woom bikes, können dadurch aber den widrigen Straßenbedingungen in Entwicklungsländern selbst bei schwerster Beladung standhalten. Buffalo-Fahrräder sind außerdem so konstruiert, dass sie möglichst einfach gewartet und mit lokal verfügbaren Ersatzteilen und Standardwerkzeugen repariert werden können.

Wie kann ich mitmachen?

Von jeder woom Fahrradklingel, die im Zeitraum vom 1. November bis zum 24. Dezember 2019 in unserem Online-Shop gekauft wird, unabhängig davon ob als Einzelbestellung oder zusammen mit anderen woom Produkten, spenden wir den gesamten Reinerlös an World Bicycle Relief. Für dich entstehen dabei keine Zusatzkosten – du kaufst, wir spenden!

Wie kann ich die Aktion unterstützen, wenn ich keine Klingel brauche?

Wenn du schon ausreichend mit Fahrradklingeln versorgt bist, hast du selbstverständlich die Möglichkeit, direkt an World Bicycle Relief zu spenden und mit deiner Spende Menschen in ländlichen Entwicklungsregionen eine bessere Zukunft zu ermöglichen. Über diesen Link gelangst du auf die Spendenseite von World Bicycle Relief.

Was genau passiert mit der gesammelten Spendensumme?

Am Ende des Aktionszeitraums werden wir den zusammen gekommenen Spendenbetrag bekannt geben und an World Bicycle Relief weiterleiten. Konkret werden damit im Rahmen ihres Bildungsprogramms BEEP (Bicycles for Educational Empowerment Program) Fahrräder für Schüler und insbesondere Schülerinnen in Sambia zur Verfügung gestellt: 70 % der Fahrräder werden dabei an Mädchen übergeben. Mit den Fahrrädern erreichen die Schülerinnen und Schüler die Schule schneller, sicherer und weniger erschöpft. So wird erreicht, dass vor allem Mädchen länger an weiterführenden Schulen verbleiben und häufiger einen Schulabschluss machen. Langfristig gehen dadurch die Anzahl früher Verheiratungen, die Geburtenrate sowie die Mütter- und Kindersterblichkeitsrate zurück.